Boards and Commissions

Boards & Commissions
The City of Springfield has a number of Boards and Commissions in place to serve our community. Each of these Boards and Commissions are comprised of members appointed by the City Council to specific terms. These Boards and Commissions are expected to operate autonomously from the City Council in an effort to make Springfield a great place to live, work, and visit. If you have interest in serving on any of the following Boards or Commissions, please contact the City Clerk for an application.

Planning Commission
The Springfield Planning Commission meets on the fourth Monday of each month to review site plans, zoning compliance requests, and other development requests as per the City's Zoning Ordinance. All requests for rezoning, site development, or other zoning/development inquiries should be addressed to the Zoning Administrator for placement on the Planning Commission Agenda. The Planning Commission is comprised of eight members.

Wesley Brandt - Chair
Richard Bauer 
Brent Folkema 
Susan Anderson
Art Hollingsworth
James Wright
Doug Wright
Maxine Morgan

Zoning Board of Appeals

This Board hears property owner appeals from Planning Commission decisions.

Carey Whitfield
Wesley Brandt
Brent Folkema
Richard Young
John Navarro

Board of Review

The board meets in March to hear appeals on property taxes. They also meet in July and in December to correct clerical errors.

Tom Riley
Larry Eib
Art Hollingsworth
VACANT (Contact City Clerk Vogel)
Dan Brunner - Assessor

Tax Abatement Review Board

This Board is in place to review requests for tax abatements. In considering a request, the Board reviews the financial impact to the City, the overall investment, and overall job creation, and the overall impact on the community. The Board is comprised of five members representing City Administration, Assessing, City Government and one citizen at-large.

Tax Abatement Application Please Note: PDF Forms may not open correctly or function as expected in Google Chrome.